Stay Connected:

Asian Author Alliance

Asian & Pacific Islander American Book Month

To celebrate Asian and Pacific Islander Heritage Month, we present AAPI Book Month! It is a month-long celebration of AAPI identities and cultures. AAPI authors and artists will come together for virtual panels and events throughout the month of May! Join us for discussions and celebrations of Asian and Pacific Islander identities and cultures! (All of our Livestreams will be hosted on our YouTube channel!) *Full Playlist HERE*

To learn more about all AAPI Book Month panelists and their work go HERE

AAPI Book Month Schedule

Date Time Event
May 7 Various Times (Eastern) WNDB Instagram takeover (Instagram Live)
Gail Villanueva (11AM), Karuna Riazi (1PM), I.W. Gregorio/Stacey Lee (4PM), Kat Cho/Swati Teerdhala (7PM) More info
May 8 7PM ET / 4PM PT The Asian Diaspora Experience (Youtube)
Samira Ahmed, Julie Dao, Tara Sim, Randy Ribay, Kat Cho More info
May 9 8PM ET / 5PM PT Author Aesthetic & How it inspires writing (IGTV)
S. Jae-Jones, Roshani Chokshi More info
May 9 9PM ET / 6PM PT Half of It (Watch Party – Twitter) #THOIWatchParty
Judy Lin, Suzanne Park
May 10 2PM ET/11AM PT Fantasy Stories (Youtube)
Lori Lee, Shveta Thakrar, Nafiza Azad, Julie Abe, S. Jae-Jones More Info
May 11 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Asian Food & Identity (Youtube)
Gloria Chao, Roselle Lim, Judy Lin, Misa Sugiura, Alexa S More Info
May 13 7PM ET/ 4PM PT World building in SFF worlds with Desi writers (Youtube)
Swati Teerdhala, Karuna Riazi, Tara Sim, Tanaz Bhathena, Akshaya Raman More Info
May 14 8PM ET / 5PM PT Books & Tea (Instagram Live)
Samira Ahmed, Julie Dao More Info
May 15 4PM ET / 1PM PT Friendship— in books and in publishing (Instagram Live)
Lori Lee, Shveta Thakrar More Info
May 15 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Isn’t It Romantic (Youtube)
Farah Heron, Tif Marcelo, SK Ali, I.W. Gregorio More Info
May 17 2PM ET / 11AM PT Immigrants, Refugees, and Second Gen: Writing the Complexity of the Asian American Experience (Youtube) Co-hosted by Books, Inc
Traci Chee, Lori Lee, Deeba Zargarpur, I.W. Gregorio More Info
May 18 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Book Friends Forever LIVE  (Youtube)
Grace Lin & Alvina Ling More Info
May 20 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Mixed Race AAPI Identity (Youtube)
Rebecca Kuss, Sarah Kuhn, Karuna Riazi, Heidi Heilig, Keala Kendall More Info
May 21 All Day Cake Literary Instagram Takeover (Instagram)
Nandini Bajpai More Info
May 21 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Family Matters (Youtube)
Gail Villanueva, Remy Lai, Sheetal Sheth, Tif Marcelo, Katrina Moore More Info
May 22 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Filipinx Authors & Stories (Youtube)
Erin Entrada Kelly, Marie Cruz, R. Zamora Linmark, Mae Respicio, Randy Ribay More Info
May 23 9PM ET/ 6PM PT Banned Book Club: Live from Busan (Instagram Live)
Kim Hyun Sook & other local authors discuss the relentless rebellion of reading More Info
May 24 2PM ET/ 11AM PT Mukbang + KDramas (Youtube)
Kat Cho, Axie Oh, Maurene Goo, Monica Kim (with special guest Ellen Oh) More Info
May 25 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Asian Characters in Historical YA (Youtube)
June Hur, Stacey Lee, Hanna Alkaf, Traci Chee, Deeba Zargarpur More Info
May 25 8PM ET/ 5PM PT Romance and Boss Babes (Instagram Live)
Nisha Sharma, Alisha Rai More Info
May 26 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Beyond Sidekicks & Stereotypes (Youtube)
Hena Khan, Christina Soontornvat, Minh Le, Ellen Oh More Info
May 27 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Mental Health in Asian Stories (Youtube) Co-hosted by Main Point Books
I.W. Gregorio, Emily XR Pan, Farah Rishi, Hanna Alkaf More Info
May 27 8PM ET/ 5PM PT We Came, We Queried, We Conquered (Instagram Live)
Axie Oh, Janella Angeles More Info
May 28 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Fandoms: Going from Fan to Interpreting a Story (Youtube)
S. Jae-Jones, Axie Oh, Liz Lim, Kat Cho, Janella Angeles, Akshaya Raman More Info
May 28 8PM ET/ 5PM PT Instagram Live Chat about Always Anjali (Instagram Live)
Sheetal Sheth, Nina Davuluri More Info
May 29 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Intersectionality in APA YA (Youtube)
Lyla Lee, CB Lee, Malinda Lo, Sara Farizan, Rahul Kanakia, Rebecca Kuss More Info
May 30 6PM ET/ 3PM PT Strong Female Asian Characters and Breaking Cultural Stereotypes in MG and YA (Instagram Live)
Lyla Lee, Katie Zhao More Info
May 31 3PM ET/ 12PM PT Dangers of a Single Story Narrative (Youtube) Co-hosted by Red Balloon Bookshop
Debbi Michiko Florence, Sabina Khan, Susan Tan, Misa Sugiura More Info
May 31 5PM ET/ 2PM PT Humor in Kidlit (Youtube)
Gloria Chao, Jessica Kim, Suzanne Park, Sara Farizan, Mike Jung More Info
May 31 7PM ET/ 4PM PT Community Building for Creatives (Youtube)
Sarah Kuhn, Preeti Chibber, Michi Trota, Jenny Yang, Kat Cho More Info